You need to activate javascript for this site.
Menu Conteúdo Rodapé
  1. Home
  2. Faculties


The Faculties of UBI are organic units pursuing the University mission, in all their activities. On this page you will find the faculties that are part of UBI as well as links to their respective departments and teaching staff.

Faculty of Sciences

Located in Pole I, this was one of the first Faculties of UBI and comprises the departments of mathematics, physics and chemistry. This area of knowledge is understood as a fundamental support for its assertion as a University of reference in the context of the public system of higher education.


Faculty of Engineering

Situated on Calçada Fonte do Lameiro, next to Polo I, but distributed by several buildings, the Faculty of Engineering integrates the following departments: Informatics, Science and Textile Technologies, Electromechanical Engineering, Civil Engineering and Architecture and Aerospace Sciences.

  • Department of Informatics
  • Department of Science and Textile Technology
  • Department of Electromechanical Engineering
  • Department of Civil Engineering and Architecture
  • Department of Aerospace Sciences


Faculty of Human and Social Sciences

Built in the former Ernesto Cruz factory, as it is known among students and the population of Covilhã, the Pole IV houses the Departments of Management and Economics, Psychology and Education, Sociology and also the Department of Sport Sciences, which is located in Polo II, near the sports infrastructures.

  • Department of Management and Economics
  • Department of Sociology
  • Department of Psychology and Education
  • Department of Sport Sciences


Faculty of Arts and Letters

Created in 2000, the Faculty of Arts and Letters is located in the former premises of the “Real Fábrica de Panos”, founded by the Marquis of Pombal in 1764. Born of an original concept in the Portuguese Academy of that time, it encompasses traditional areas of Letters, Philosophy, Design, Cinema and Communication Sciences, as well as its strands of Journalism, Advertising and Public Relations.

  • Department of Communication and Arts
  • Department of Letters 


Faculty of Health Sciences

Created in 2001, the Faculty of Health Sciences is located next to the “Centro Hospitalar Cova da Beira” and invests in innovative training models, guided by high-quality assistential, pedagogical and scientific standards. The Faculty encompasses the subject areas of Medicine, Biomedicine, Pharmaceutical Sciences, Optometry and Vision Science and is articulated with units of health care in the region.

  • Department of Medical Sciences

Last update on: 22/03/2016

The cookies used in this website do not collect personal information that helps to identify you. By continuing you agree to the cookie policy.